2/3 of EU states voted for atrocious Copyright Reform — now all will have to adopt it

More from: | The Next Web |

The absolute final vote on the incredibly controversial Copyright Reform was held today, with 19 EU member states voting in favor of making it EU law.

Despite the Netherlands, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Finland, and Sweden voting against the Copyright Reform — and Estonia, Belgium, and Slovenia abstaining — it’ll now be mandatory for all EU countries to implement the law at a national level. This will include the most controversial parts of the directive: Article 11 (aka link tax) and Article 13 (aka upload filters).

Voting results, #Copyright directive approved: pic.twitter.com/kHPp8Q8xVI

— Julia Reda (@Senficon) April 15, 2019

No matter which side of the issue people were on, pretty much everyone was in favor of updating copyright law


Read full article » https://thenextweb.com/eu/2019/04/15/19-eu-member-states-copyright-reform/

About | The Next Web |

In 2006, founders Boris and Patrick were looking for a tech event to showcase their new startup. When they couldn’t find one that checked all the boxes they decided to host their own. As they were organizing things, they soon realized they needed somewhere to promote the conference, and that’s how thenextweb.com was launched. It later became a blog and the result is what you are looking at right now.

TNW was started to bring insight, meaning—and every now and again, the lulz—to the world of technology. But we didn’t want to stop there. Today the company has grown from those two parts to four pillars that brought forth TNW News, TNW Deals, TNW Conference and Events, our new tech hub called TQ and Index, our market intelligence platform.

»Twitter: @thenextweb »Facebook: @thenextweb